Hootsuite Alternative For AI Agents

Hootsuite is a team platform priced per user, with a Publishing API and an MCP server for publishing (Perch MCP) that requires an active Hootsuite account (checked Aug 18, 2026). sfeed is a CLI and MCP server for one person or a small team that wants an AI agent to post to Facebook Pages and Instagram without a dashboard in the loop. If you need inbox, listening, analytics, and approval roles, Hootsuite is built for that and sfeed is not.

What each tool is built for

Hootsuite: An all-in-one social media management platform for teams: scheduling, inbox, analytics, listening, and advocacy from one dashboard, priced per user.

sfeed: A publishing layer any agent can call, from Claude Code, Claude Cowork, Codex, OpenCode, Cursor, or a plain shell. It handles Meta auth, Page and Instagram account selection, local media staging, immediate posting, hosted scheduling with previews, and queue actions (list, cancel, reschedule, duplicate). Nothing else.

Facts side by side

Fact sfeed Hootsuite
Free tier Yes Immediate posting, MCP usage, page inspection, and local auth are free. No separate product account. No 14-day trial without a credit card. Trial accounts have daily posting limits. source
Paid from $5/month Hosted scheduling only, one flat price for all connected destinations. $99 per user/month Standard, billed annually, up to 10 social accounts. Professional $199 and Advanced $399 per user/month billed annually. Monthly-billing prices are not stated on the plans page. source
Facebook Pages Yes Pages only, not personal profiles. Yes Business or personal Pages, with Admin or Editor access. source
Instagram Yes Business and Creator accounts, connected directly through Instagram Login. No Facebook Page required. Yes Business accounts for feed posts, carousels, and Reels. Creator-account support is not stated on the pages we could read without logging in. source
Public API CLI and MCP Scoped agent tokens for the data plane. No separately documented REST API. Yes REST Publishing API with OAuth2. Which plans include API access is not stated on the public developer pages. source
MCP server Yes `sfeed mcp` over stdio, free on every account. Works with Claude Code, Claude Cowork, Codex, OpenCode, Cursor, Claude Desktop, and any other MCP client. Yes Perch MCP for publishing (draft, schedule, content library, performance). Requires an active Hootsuite account. source
CLI Yes `sfeed`, installed with one signed curl command. Not stated source
Open source No The public repo hosts docs, skills, and the plugin marketplace. No source

Hootsuite facts were read on the pages linked above on Aug 18, 2026. Prices are in USD as shown by the vendor. Where a vendor page does not say something, the table says "Not stated" instead of guessing. sfeed facts come from /pricing and /docs.

The differences that matter for an agent

Choose Hootsuite if

Choose sfeed if

Start with sfeed

curl -fsSL https://sfeed.dev/install.sh | sh
sfeed auth facebook connect
sfeed auth instagram connect
sfeed mcp

Add MCP to Claude Code, Codex, or OpenCode with one command each; see the MCP docs.

Read next